Skip to content

Week 5 NFL Picks

October 9, 2011

Football fans, Good morning.

After finishing a 13.1 mile run, and placing my Vegas bets for today, I am ready to share with you my insight.

INDY over Chiefs

Colts have shown now 3 weeks in a row that they are not nearly as bad as that team that lined up against the Texans back in Week 1. Painter gets it done, and maybe even completes half of his passes and the Chiefs winning streak stops at 1. Colts: 21-13

VIKINGS over Cardinals

McNabb will not finish this year as the starter, heck he may not even make it into week 8 as the starter. But his team could also easily be 4-0 if it weren’t for late game collapses. Kolb throws a couple of TDs, but cannot secure victory. Vikings: 28-21

PHILLY over Bills

What better game to magnify America’s love for building people and teams up, and then slowly tearing them down, only to build them back up again, in hopes of then tearing them down. The Bills and Lions have gotten most of the hype the past few weeks. Humane Society donor Michael Vick and the Eagles were much of the story in pre-season. I doubt both of these teams make the playoffs, but I am not ready to admit that the Eagles are this bad of a team yet. Eagles: 31-28

TEXANS over Raiders

A sad day in Oakland. The Raiders will definitely come out swinging, hoping to punch the Texas boys in their mouths. But as the end of the day, Schaub and Co. will use that potent offense and manimalistic defense to cause a little more sting to a cloudy weekend thus far in Oakland. RIP Al Davis. Texans: 34-31

SAINTS over Carolina

Yes we know Cam Newton can throw the ball, and yes we know his defense stinks. Guess who else can throw the ball and has a good defense? Saints: 34-14

CINCY over Jags

One of the biggest surprises this year to me is the play of Andy Dalton and his badass Bengals. That team plays tough, and if you asked me right now whom I would take between Dalton, Colt McCoy, and Jimmy Clausen, I would absolutely take the red haired wonder. Name a player on the Jags that isn’t Gabbert or MJD. Bengals: 21-17

TITANS over Steelers

Week in and week out I say how old the Steelers D is, and in my 10 team fantasy league, Fondlesberger is still a free agent. They simply aren’t the team they once were. Hats off to Hasslebeck for a Kurt Warner like resurgence. Titans: 31-24

NYG over Seahawks

This pick was simple. The game is being played in the Meadowlands, now Seattle. That’s about all I needed to know. T-Jack, not a competent QB. Eli, excellent QB. Giants: 31-13

TAMPA over 49ers

This was a tough pick for sure. I like Alex Smith and I think football is more interesting when a team so rich in tradition like San Fran is playing well. But, I’m not ready to throw in the towel on the Bucs like I have done every year after the Mike Alstott era. It’s a close one. Tampa Bay: 26-24

PATRIOTS over Jets

The Jets are just going to have to ride this suck stick for a little while longer. Patriots are not the dominating team I thought they were going to be this year, but they are still very good. Look for ground and pound from Rex Ryan, and hope they don’t get behind and have to rely on the Sanchize. Pats: 31-21

CHARGERS over Broncos

I hate to do this one, considering I grew up and still am a huge Broncs fan, but Orton just doesn’t “do it” for me. Philip “cry me a” Rivers is an amazing talent, just not on a consistent team. Look for my boy Mike Tolbert to step it up. Chargers: 31-14

PACKERS over ATL

What we thought pre-season would be a close hard fought battle, may turn out to be another, look how awesome the Packers are, type game. I still stand by my statement that they will not win 14 games, but isn’t it crazy to think that ATL won 14 games last year? Packers: 38-28

BEARS over Lions

I know I know, not a popular pick. However, has anyone noticed how the Lions have to like pull out every game at the last second? That doesn’t make me feel good. I have Megatron on my fantasy team, so I want him to catch like 4 touchdowns, but if that happens, I’m going to need Jay Cutler to throw for 5 TDs. This is a game I am actually really looking forward to watch, and it should be easily one of the two best games this week. Bears: 35-31

Your “Sure Lock” pick of the week is NO over the Panthers. If you are betting straight on this one, you are going to have to bet a lot to make some money unfortunately. As I look at the schedule, this is the only game that I see no possibilities for hiccups or upsets.

The “Hindsight” pick of the week had about 3 teams vying for it, but the edge will go to the 49ers vs Bucs. I just feel that the Niners are playing with more heart than most teams, and truth of the matter is that I just don’t like or care much for the Bucs. They are so blehh. So Even tho I picked the Bucs, I’ll be kicking myself when Alex Smith fends off the blitz and leads San Fran to another victory.

Enjoy the games, while I tend to my chaffed thighs.

Miles

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I like that you’re picking the Giants to win this week. I think you might be right about the Bears taking down the Lions, but I hope the Lions win. I’ve never really been a Bears fan and I this whole Detroit is back vibe with the Lions undefeated and the tough-style ad campaigns for Chrysler.

    I hope the Bills kill Philly, though. I like the Bills and don’t like Philly and I am sick of how much coverage and attention Philly keeps getting. Every time I turn on ESPN they’re talking about the Eagles. Hey, ESPN, I DON’T CARE!

    • Haha I love it. And you are so right about those damn Chrysler ads trying to be hard/tough. Showing the 8 Mile road sign haha, how about they show all of the decrepit slums and once beautiful brownstones? Too bad they aren’t telling you that some guy named Leroy is making 80k per year working in the plant with a pension that will pay him more per year than most teachers.
      I hate Philly and I will not be picking them to win anymore in the upcoming games. The Giants are so freaking streaky/inconsistent, I wish I could pick them every week, but I can’t.

Leave a comment